CSU Gonzaga is 10th Overall Best Performing School in RHEPC 2023; Paragon’s Chief Editor is Region’s 2nd Highest Individual Pointer
Published March 11, 2023 by Paragon


REGIONAL SHOCKER| CSU Gonzaga is 10th Overall Best Performing School in RHEPC 2023; Paragon’s Chief Editor is Region’s 2nd Highest Individual Pointer

After reaping 17 individual awards, Paragon, the official campus student publication of Cagayan State University Gonzaga made sure its presence was felt in the 19th Regional Higher Education Press Conference at the Highlander Hotel and Resort, Solano, Nueva Vizcaya, March 8-10.

Sealing their marks in the RHEPC 2023, here are the accolades bagged by the publication and the staffs:
Scott Louie Pasion
2nd Place - Editorial Writing (English)
2nd Place - News Writing (English)
2nd Place - Poetry Writing (English)
2nd Overall Highest Individual Pointer
Vryan Joshua Reyes
2nd Place - Editorial Writing (Filipino)
7th Place - News Writing (Filipino)
April Mae Garcia
4th Place - DevCom Writing (Filipino)
5th Place - Feature Writing (Filipino)
Leonard Jake Cabais
5th Place - Editorial Cartooning (Filipino)
8th Place - Comic Strip Drawing (Filipino)
Marjory Carbonel
7th Place - Sports Writing (English)
Kriszelle Anne Gonzales
7th Place - DevCom Writing (English)
Carmela Calica
8th Place - Literary Graphics (English)
10th Place - Comic Strip Drawing (English)
John Austin Viloria
9th Place - Photojournalism (Filipino)
Vincent Carl Cabasug
9th Place - Photojournalism (English)
9th Place - Layouting
Mark Christian Artis
10th Place - Column Writing (Filipino)

Pamela Saturno also represented the school in Copy Reading and Headline Writing-English and Snooky Javier in Sports Writing and CRHW, both Filipino categories.

Securing their seats in the top 5 of their respective events, Pasion, Reyes, Garcia, and Cabais will represent the school in the Luzon-wide Higher Education Press Conference should the said competition push through this year.
The student journalists were accompanied by their winning advisers and coaches, Dr. Louraine Chriscelle Seguritan and Prof. Edison Villena.

Meanwhile, we, at Paragon, would like to share these achievements and at the same time, thank Campus Executive Officer, Dr. Froilan Pacris Jr. and all the faculty members who extended their consideration during our two-day training up to the actual three-day Presscon.

We would also like to extend our gratitude to Prof. Rhey Jhune Cacao, Mr. Jah Amphia Ebreel Moreno, Ms. Mary Jane Acebuche, Mr. Michael Crisostomo, Mr. Marino Crisostomo, Mr. Mark John Rapanan, and Ms. Katrina Samortin for sharing their knowledge and expertise on the field prior to the RHEPC.

Ito ang Paragon, and we always strive “Para sa Gonzaga!”

Photos by John Austin Viloria